Free Yorkie Puppy Scams?

I was looking for dogs to adopt online at a website. There was a lot of free puppies on this website but none close to me except for one. It was an ad for 2 free yorkie puppies and so I emailed the person because it was in Detroit Michigan which is where I live. She emailed me back with very in depth answers to the questions, very specific about the dogs, like what time they ate and all of that stuff. But she lives in Victoria Cameroon. Which is in Africa. She says the puppies are free, I was just wondering if this was a scam. I had read a lot about this in Yahoo. Her name is Cindy Cortez. Anybody know anything about this? Please help. I dont want to get scammed. Oh and she didnt say anything about charges for shipping either. So I am confused! I appreciate it a lot!!

Robyn

It's a commonly known scam.

Nothing In Life Is Free.
If It's Too Good To Be True, It Probably Is.
Remembering these cliches will save you from being scammed.

Stop searching the scam sites like kijiji and craigslist. Instead, find a reputable rescue group and work with them.

Rescue Info: http://www.ytca.org and http://www.petfinder.com

Added: Report this person to http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx

Tags: ,

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “Free Yorkie Puppy Scams?”

  1. Crazed Running Basset says:

    Of COURSE it's a scam.

    Cameroon = scam

    Just Google Cameroon puppy scam and see how many hits you get.
    References :

  2. i.am. says:

    SCAM !!!!!! any thing lately from africa is a scam!
    References :

  3. BYB's: Tom, Dick & Heinous says:

    It's a commonly known scam.

    Nothing In Life Is Free.
    If It's Too Good To Be True, It Probably Is.
    Remembering these cliches will save you from being scammed.

    Stop searching the scam sites like kijiji and craigslist. Instead, find a reputable rescue group and work with them.

    Rescue Info: http://www.ytca.org and http://www.petfinder.com

    Added: Report this person to http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx
    References :

  4. MDL owns a 100% mixed breed mutt says:

    Yes, it’s a scam what do you expect.
    References :

  5. They're HERE!!! says:

    Run FAR.—VERY FAR! DO NOT give the women ANY money..and don’t be expecting a puppy to be delivered to your door either. Sorry, I’d look elsewhere- Like your local animal shelter.
    References :

  6. Starlight says:

    If she is lying about where she lives that you can bet everything else is s lie. Wonder why she is advertising in Detroit.
    References :

  7. julie d says:

    It's a huge scam. This person has been scamming for a long, long time. Do not give her any of your personal information or sent her one red cent. There are no dogs. They do not exist! I'm glad you posted this question before she took your money. Look for a Yorkie from a reputable breeder, please. BTW, Hello neighbor…I'm in Warren.

    Add: She has many listings on craigslist as well, so be careful there, too!
    References :

  8. vintagecollies says:

    Read just HOW many accounts of that exact same scam are listed on here:

    http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/scammingbuyers.htm

    Stay away from it. If you want a yorkie, save up and get one from a reputable breeder, or adopt one from a purebred rescue. Dogs are NOT the place to try to “save a buck”. You get what you pay for.

    Good Luck!
    Vintage Collies
    References :

  9. redneckcowgirlmo says:

    Yes its a scam ! try Yorkie rescues or ytca.org and find a responsible breeder.
    References :

  10. Yogi and Me says:

    why would someone give away a free yorkie with no string attached? why don’t you go on a free website like petfinder.com. No scam just a collective of rescues with dogs that needs a family/home. ( the dogs are not free a adoption fee that is tax deductible is usually the cost for feeding, vet visit and other maintenance done)
    if it is too good to be true, it probably is.
    References :

  11. Renee C says:

    They tried to scam me this week too. I was looking for a bulldog puppy and I have no idea how she got my e-mail. I responded to her b/c at first I thought she was from the rescue place I put an application on. When I got the e-mail from the “shipping” company asking me to wire the money I knew better. She told me her beloved puppy was named “sally” What a jerk!
    References :

  12. Yo LO! Aussie Grins says:

    Puppy + Free + Cameroon (or any other = SCAM.
    References :

  13. courtbo89 says:

    Sounds like a scam to me. The seller could be a scammer trying to get your money for themselves.
    References :

  14. LAURIE says:

    I haven’t heard of this one but can tell you for sure that this is a scam. She will say the puppies are free ( they will never arrive) but will ask yu to pay for their transfer and quarantine to the U.S. Or as for a credit card number for name verification or a checking account number, or even cash wired to her. Stay away from this. No one will ship a dog that far for free. The dog would not be able to enter another country with vaccination verification, quarantine time and huge shipping charges. If it is too good true it is not true.
    References :

Leave a Reply

*