September 21, 2008
I answered an Ad "Free Yorkie Puppies" for $130 - free adoption - they sent pictures too!?
Now they want $150 for air tickets and transfer ownership. Is this a scam?
The funny thing is when I responded to a total of 4 simular Ads. One of them said they were in the same country (Cameroon) as this party in question said, but the research was different. Another one said his job sent him first to Washington and now he's in Virginia. The one in question I've been e-mailing back and forth and I was honest with them. I told them I was concerned that this was a scam and to call me with the procedures as well as e-mail me. They did. How do I search further to see if this is a scam? My daughter wants to Bless me by paying her hard earn money, so I want to be sure this is not a scam.
Wow! Thanks guys, that's what I thought - "A Scam". I did say we would like to drive to LA to meet them. I also asked about the parents, etc. Thank God I decided to do more research. I will check out the website you guys suggested.
Ciao, Butterfly @–)
Wow! Thanks guys, that's what I thought - "A Scam". I did say we would like to drive to LA to meet them. I also asked about the parents, etc. Thank God I decided to do more research. I will check out the website you guys suggested.I knew it was to good to be true - saved my daughter's money :>)
Ciao, Butterfly @–)
Another scam. Why would you send anyone money when you didn't meet them in person? You got an expensive picture of Yorkies. Do not send any more money. Consider yourself lucky that you only are out $130 for education.
When it sounds too good to be true…it usually is too good to be true.
Turn them in.
Filed under Free Yorkie Puppies by admin


Comments on I answered an Ad "Free Yorkie Puppies" for $130 - free adoption - they sent pictures too!? »
Yeah. Don't trust them. Just go to a shelter or breed-specific rescue.
References :
my answer would be yes…
References :
Yep.
report it to http://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx
And stop answering ads for puppies. If you want a yorkie, go to http://www.ytca.org and find a breeder through them, or http://www.petfinder.com to find a dog that needs a home.
References :
I would say so. First it says free and then for $130. I'd just look around my local shelters, this doesn't sound like the way to go to adopt a pup.
References :
Most likely. They are just going to take the 150. If they were going to give it away it would be local and they would want to meet you in person and get to know you and your family before they just give you a dog.
References :
There is nothing FREE if they are charging $130 for the puppy and now $150 for tickets and papers, etc. Don't do it. It's a well known SCAM. You will never see the puppy or your money. If you want a puppy go to http://www.petfinder.com and look in your area for rescue puppies that are looking for a good home.
References :
Yes it is a scam. If you want to throw them for a loop tell them to email you the airport info and you will contact the airport and pay them by phone yourself. I don't know of any air line that will ship that cheap.
References :
Sounds like a big scam too me!Don't do it!
References :
Yes its a scam! They dont have any yorkies.. the pics are pics they stole off the internet somewhere.. its not that hard to find a pic and say you have that dog!
It cost a LOT more than $130 to send a dog by air.. its mosre like $300-400 and thats to ship it from state to state.. you also need a health cert. from the vet, and a crate, which will cost even more.
Think about it. Yorkies are a highly desired purebred dog. Why would they give one away for free? There's plenty of people local to the seller who would jump thru hoops and still be happy to pay $500+ for one!
SCAM!
It is a scam.. they have proceedures all set up for you to send them money.. but they will dissapear soon after they recieve it! Its not that hard to change IP addy's and emails! Heck I have 2 computers running on the same wireless internet and each one has its own IP!
Read what people have told you. Odd that so many people in camaroon have "free" yorkie puppies.. dont ya think? I know people who have flown dogs from one state to another.. it cost about $300-400 for the airfare.. it costs even more to ship a dog overseas!
This is a scam! Dont fall for it!
If you want a yorkie, you're better off to seek a rescue in your area http://www.petfinder.com
References :
yes, it's a scam. If you send them the $ for tickets, then they need more money for "insurance" then even more for test vac. etc until you just give up on it. Was talking to a lady on another site that went into it for over $800…. And will never see the dog. (the pictures sre "borrowed" from breeder sites on the web)
References :
Another scam. Why would you send anyone money when you didn't meet them in person? You got an expensive picture of Yorkies. Do not send any more money. Consider yourself lucky that you only are out $130 for education.
When it sounds too good to be true…it usually is too good to be true.
Turn them in.
References :
Of course it's a scam, a very common scam lately. Not sure why people keep falling for it.
References :
yea its a scam, i almost fell for it, they are from africa ( no ofeence) just want quick ez money.
References :
I work for a newspaper taking classified ads. We get tons of these scam ads for Yorkies, English Bulldogs & one or two others. We stop them and they just submit again under another name. Please don't fall for the story about being a Christian missionary; they only say that because it makes people trust them. Go to a rescue group, there are hundreds of animals who need a good home.